03 Feb 2020
Deleting a photo from a phone should be an easy task. Even though it is, the outcome isn’t satisfactory, especially when you delete photos from your phone connected to the cloud services. Many of you might have noticed that their photos disappeared from iCloud when you deleted them on your iPhone. Why did that happen? And what does happen when you delete photos from your iPhone? Find the answer in this post.
If you are a newbie to the cloud services, you must be wondering whether you are deleting the original photo or its copy. Well, the answer depends on many things. Firstly, it depends on what app you are using to delete the photos. Is it the Apple Photos or other gallery app like Google Photos? We have covered the results for deleting photos from Apple Photos in this post.
In the Apple Photos app, the result depends on two things — whether the iCloud is off or on. Let’s see how that affects your photos.
What Happens When You Delete Photos From iPhone When iCloud Is Off
That again depends on two things. Firstly, if you have never turned on iCloud backup for photos on your current phone, then deleting photos will simply remove them from your phone.
However, if you had earlier turned on iCloud and your photos are synced to iCloud, then if you turn off iCloud and delete the photos, they will be removed from your phone only. But, if you enable iCloud Photos again on the same phone using the same Apple account, then the photos that you deleted on your phone will be removed from your iCloud too if they were previously synced. That might be the reason why iCloud deleted your photos.
What Happens When You Delete Photos From iPhone When iCloud Is On
While things are simple when iCloud is on, many won’t like the repercussions irrespective of whatever method you use to delete photos from iCloud.
When iCloud Photos is enabled on your iPhone, and you press the delete button for a photo, it will be removed from iCloud and other Apple devices connected to the same iCloud account. It happens because your photos are constantly in sync with iCloud. So, removing a picture from one device will remove it from all.
Sadly, it’s not possible to remove it from the iPhone only. Fortunately, your phone will remind you that deleting the photo from your phone will remove it from everywhere before you confirm the deletion.
Tip: Do you use Google Photos on your iPhone or iPad? Find out why your iCloud photos are deleted when you delete photos from Google Photos on iPhone.